Every state has laws and regulations surrounding hit-and-run accidents. Some states, like Nevada, enforce harsher penalties than other states for failure to report accidents. In Nevada, drivers must take proper steps to ensure complete reporting. If they do not, they will likely face legal ramifications.
Nevada Revised Statutes Chapter 484E
The hit-and-run laws in Nevada are detailed in the Nevada Revised Statutes, Chapter 484E: Crashes and Reports of Crashes. The laws presented in this statute include hit-and-run accidents that damage property or result in bodily injury or harm. The most critical detail of these hit-and-run laws is that all drivers, regardless of who is at fault, are required to exchange contact and vehicle information and offer assistance, as needed.
Laws By Accident Type
The laws for accident reporting and the necessary steps depend on the type of accident. Here’s how hit-and-run laws are broken down by accident type:
Personal Injury Accidents
When motorists are involved in an accident where someone sustains an injury, the following hit-and-run laws apply:
- All vehicles must stop without interrupting the flow of traffic if appropriate.
- Drivers or passengers must assist anyone who is hurt, and those involved must administer these services by calling 911, formally reporting the accident, and asking first responders to send medical assistance.
- If hurt individuals cannot call for help on their own, passengers or others involved in the collision must make that phone call on their behalf.
- Drivers must exchange information. This includes name, address, vehicle registration number, and driver’s license information if requested.
- Drivers must present licenses to the police if requested.
Property Damage Accidents
Not all hit-and-run accidents lead to injury; some lead to property damage, instead – a situation our Las Vegas bus accident lawyers deal with often due to the prevalence of shuttle and party buses around town. For these types of accidents, drivers must still adhere to state laws and take corresponding actions. Drivers may not flee the scene simply because no one was visibly hurt.
- Stop and refrain from impeding traffic when possible
- Maneuver vehicles out of the road if they are operational
- Exchange information, including name, vehicle registration number, and driver’s license.
- Call the police and provide any requested documentation.
Hit-and-Run Penalties in Nevada
A driver can face minimal-to-serious penalties if they are found guilty of a hit-and-run. Penalties will vary depending on the accident damages, similar to the laws surrounding accident types.
Here are the penalties organized by type of accident:
Bodily Injury or Death
- Prison sentences range from at least 2 years up to 20 years.
- Suspended sentences are not available in hit-and-run instances, so time will be served.
- Fines range from $2,000-$5,000.
- Bodily injury or death result in a Class B felony conviction.
- Points will be applied to the driver’s license.
- Property damage will be classified as a misdemeanor conviction and placed on a person’s criminal record.
- Offenders can serve up to six months in jail.
- Drivers will receive six license points.
- Drivers may have to pay fines of up to $1,000.
- Drivers may receive a potential one-year license suspension for failure to report the accident.
Hit-and-Run Laws in Las Vegas
While the state of Nevada has its own hit-and-run laws, the city of Las Vegas has also laid out stipulations for hit-and-run offenders. As of 2019, the hit-and-run laws in Las Vegas classify hit-and-run charges to be a criminal offense. If an accident occurs in the city of Las Vegas, the offender must report it by calling the police and exchange driver information with the other driver, too. Any driver who fails to meet these requirements could be subject to misdemeanor or felony charges, which could result in a prison sentence, license points/suspensions, fines, and/or restitution.
Victims of Hit-and-Run Accidents
Since hit-and-run laws are unique to each area, it’s wise to have a hit-and-run lawyer who’s familiar with local laws. If you are a victim of a hit-and-run accident in Las Vegas or the state of Nevada, the team at SJW Injury Attorneys is available to help you navigate the complex claims process. Contact us today.